BitMine Immersion Technologies reported acquiring 53,501 ETH during the week ended Aug. 30, lifting its treasury to 5,901,112 ETH, according to a Form 8-K furnished to the Securities and Exchange Commission Monday morning.

The addition was BitMine’s largest since at least its June updates and was 64.9% greater than the 32,447 ETH reported one week earlier, by Coinburn’s calculation. It matters for the U.S. close because the NYSE-listed company is approaching its stated target of holding 5% of ether’s supply while concentrating most of its reported assets in one volatile token.

BitMine did not disclose the acquisition’s counterparties, execution times, average purchase price, custody movements or funding source. The filing therefore establishes what the company says it acquired, but not how the transactions affected its cost basis or liquidity.

Reported holdings reach 5.90 million ETH

BitMine said its holdings totaled 5,901,112 ETH as of 3 p.m. Eastern on Aug. 30, up from 5,847,611 ETH at 2 p.m. Eastern on Aug. 23. The 53,501-token difference matches the weekly acquisition stated in the new filing and represents a 0.9% increase in the reported balance.

Using a company-supplied total Ethereum supply figure of 120.7 million ETH, Coinburn calculates that the new balance equals approximately 4.89% of supply. BitMine rounded that figure to 4.9% and described itself as 98% of the way to its 5% target. The supply denominator can change with issuance and burning, so the percentage is not fixed.

Five percent of the cited supply would equal 6.035 million ETH. On that static denominator, BitMine remained about 133,888 ETH short at the observation time. That is a calculation, not a forecast that the company will complete additional purchases.

BitMine valued ether at $2,511 in Monday’s exhibit, attributing the reference to Coinbase. That price applies to the company’s Aug. 30, 3 p.m. Eastern portfolio snapshot. It is not a Coinburn spot quote, an exchange closing auction, a volume-weighted execution price or evidence of what BitMine paid for the newly acquired tokens.

The staked balance did not rise

The company again reported 5,067,309 ETH as staked through its MAVAN platform and staking partners—the same amount disclosed Aug. 24. Coinburn calculates that approximately 85.9% of the latest ETH treasury was staked, down from 86.7% one week earlier because the total balance increased while reported staked ETH did not.

That leaves approximately 833,803 ETH outside the reported staking total, compared with 780,302 ETH the preceding week. “Not reported as staked” does not necessarily mean immediately liquid: the filing does not provide wallet-level attribution, custody status, encumbrances or settlement details for that balance.

BitMine reported a 2.67% seven-day staking yield expressed at an annualized rate and projected approximately $340 million of annualized revenue from its current staking position. Those are company estimates, not audited realized revenue. Annualizing seven days assumes that recent performance persists and does not account for changing network rewards, validator performance, token prices, fees, downtime or slashing.

Cash increased, but financing remains unclear

Reported cash and marketable securities rose from $308 million on Aug. 23 to $541 million on Aug. 30, a $233 million increase. The two weekly exhibits do not explain the source of that change or reconcile it with ether purchases, operating cash flows, securities transactions or capital issuance.

BitMine placed the value of its crypto, cash, marketable securities and other investments at $15.6 billion, versus $14.9 billion one week earlier. That $700 million difference should not be treated as profit: the snapshots used different ether prices and also incorporated cash, bitcoin and privately or publicly held investments.

The event time is the Aug. 30 portfolio snapshot. The disclosure was accepted by the SEC at 8:45:28 a.m. Eastern on Aug. 31, and Coinburn’s publication window is the Aug. 31 U.S. close. Further filings are needed to establish acquisition cost, financing, custody and whether the newly added ether is subsequently staked.

Primary sourceSEC — BitMine Aug. 31 Form 8-K and filing detail

The complete source packet and revision history are retained with the newsroom record.

Automated desk disclosure

Automated systems may have assisted with source organization and drafting. Coinburn is accountable for the published text and maintains a revision record.

Financial-risk note

This article provides news and analysis, not investment, legal or tax advice. Digital assets are volatile and may result in total loss.