Ripple announced on April 8, 2025 that it had agreed to acquire Hidden Road, a multi-asset prime broker, for $1.25 billion. The proposed transaction would place clearing, financing and prime-brokerage services spanning digital assets and conventional markets inside a company best known for cryptocurrency payments and XRP-linked infrastructure.
The development mattered because prime brokerage is institutional market plumbing. A prime broker can combine financing, clearing, custody and access across venues, allowing hedge funds, market makers and other trading firms to manage positions through fewer counterparties. Ripple was proposing to buy that function, not simply invest in another token project.
The deal was not complete on April 8. Ripple did not state a calendar closing date, and the transaction remained subject to regulatory approvals.
A $1.25 billion expansion into market infrastructure
Ripple described Hidden Road as serving more than 300 institutional customers and clearing $3 trillion annually across foreign exchange, digital assets, derivatives, swaps and fixed income. Reuters independently reported the acquisition price and repeated those operating figures. Bloomberg characterized it as Ripple’s largest acquisition.
Those scale numbers came from the companies. The April 8 announcement did not publish audited statements, define the exact measurement period behind the annual clearing figure or divide the $3 trillion by asset class. Clearing volume is also not revenue, assets under management or customer money held by Hidden Road. It measures activity processed across the platform and should not be read as the value of the acquisition.
Ripple said it had participated in Hidden Road’s Series B financing and was already a customer. That prior relationship offered a strategic explanation for the purchase: Ripple had direct experience with the platform and wanted to add institutional trading infrastructure to its payments and custody businesses. The announcement also said Ripple would supply capital intended to expand Hidden Road’s financing capacity, but it did not quantify a funded amount on April 8 beyond saying the injection would total billions of dollars.
Public terms were limited. The announcement supplied the headline consideration and regulatory condition but did not disclose the mix of cash, equity or other consideration, a valuation methodology, the required approval jurisdictions or a full transaction agreement. The $1.25 billion should therefore be treated as the announced deal value, not a fully itemized cash payment verified in a public filing.
RLUSD and the XRP Ledger were plans, not completed migrations
Ripple connected the transaction to two of its products. It said Hidden Road was using Ripple USD, or RLUSD, as collateral across prime-brokerage products and projected that the stablecoin would support cross-margining between digital-asset and traditional-market positions. Ripple also said Hidden Road would migrate post-trade activity to the XRP Ledger.
The chronology matters. The event-day record supported existing use of RLUSD as collateral, according to Ripple, but described the ledger migration in future terms. It did not establish that Hidden Road’s entire reported annual clearing activity was already settling on the XRP Ledger, that every customer used RLUSD or that the acquisition created demand for XRP. No transaction count, collateral balance or migration schedule was disclosed.
The institutional significance was still substantial. Ripple was seeking control of a multi-asset, credit-intensive intermediary able to connect cryptocurrency markets with foreign exchange, rates and derivatives. If approved, that structure could give Ripple distribution for its stablecoin, custody and blockchain services while exposing the company to the capital, counterparty and operational demands of prime brokerage.
What the April 8 record established
The defensible conclusion on April 8, 2025 was an announced $1.25 billion acquisition agreement, supported by Ripple’s dated statement and contemporaneous Reuters and Bloomberg reporting. It was not evidence of a completed change of control, successful systems integration or realized institutional adoption.
No XRP or broader cryptocurrency return is attributed to the announcement. Digital assets trade continuously across fragmented venues, and the reviewed sources did not provide a defined instrument, venue and event window that could isolate the transaction’s effect.
Later confirmation
Ripple said on October 24, 2025 that the acquisition had closed and Hidden Road had been renamed Ripple Prime. That later development confirms completion, but it was not knowable on April 8 and does not change the conditional status of the original announcement.
The complete source packet and revision history are retained with the newsroom record.
Automated systems may have assisted with source organization and drafting. Coinburn is accountable for the published text and maintains a revision record.
This article provides news and analysis, not investment, legal or tax advice. Digital assets are volatile and may result in total loss.

